A CEO and DelVal alumnus to share business experiences with students

Oct 27, 2011

By Annmarie Ely

Delaware Valley College will welcome CEO Laura Owen ’79 as its eleventh Thomas W. Watson Executive-in-Residence on Nov. 17.

Owen heads PontSalus, a firm committed to making quality healthcare more affordable and accessible worldwide. The firm works with top healthcare leaders in North America, including medical providers, medical universities, corporations, not-for-profit organizations and government.

Owen will give a lecture presentation at 10:50 a.m. in Moumgis Auditorium on DelVal’s Doylestown campus.

After her presentation she will have lunch with the business administration faculty and students.

The event is free to the college community.

Thomas W. Watson started the Executive-in-Residence Program in 2005 to bring worldwide business leaders to the college.

Watson, a 1957 graduate of DelVal, is co-founder and vice chairman emeritus of Omnicom Group, Inc. and dean of Omnicom University. He founded the program to enhance students’ learning experiences by bringing in people with firsthand knowledge of the business world.

Before PontSalus, Owen was a founder and President/COO of ICOP Digital, Inc. a company that engineers and markets mobile video products for first responders.

She was the first woman appointed as Kansas’ secretary of commerce, where she led international trade, business development and travel and tourism.

In addition to her service on numerous state boards and commissions, Owen served 10 years on the board of Heart to Heart International, a global humanitarian organization that delivers medicine and medical supplies to areas of need.

In 2007, she was named to the “Women Who Mean Business” organization by the Kansas City Business Journal. Owen holds a bachelor’s degree in business administration from DelVal. She and her husband, Dave, have five adult children. They live in Olathe, Kan.

Previous Executives in Residence include: Neil Clover, Sydney F. Martin, Richard Reif, Charles J. Alpuche, JM Herr, Pamela Sander, Howard Stoeckel, Phillip Clemens, Rob Dhoble and Thomas Watson.